Sometimes a situation will arise where you need to remove a user account. Kayako does have a delete user feature, but it is important to understand the consequences of using it.
When you delete a user, it not only permanently removes them from your Kayako, but deleting a user also irretrievably deletes any conversation for which they were the requester.
That said, this article will walk you through the process of removing a user account from your Kayako.
IMPORTANT: Remember, when you delete a user, all their profile information and conversation history will be lost forever, and its tickets will be removed as well. If you are not sure you are ready to delete a user permanently, you can disable them instead. Once deleted, we cannot recover user accounts nor their affiliated conversations.
Note: To delete a user in Kayako, you will need an administrator account with the 'Delete users and organizations' permission.
To delete a user account, follow the steps below:
- Sign in to the agent area.
- Search for the user you want to delete.
- From the user menu, click Delete User.
- Read the warnings very carefully to make sure you are ready to destroy this user's data and their conversations.
- When you are sure, click the Delete User button to remove them from your Kayako.
It should be noted that the Agent user cannot be not deleted if it is associated with any conversations/ history. This is Functionality As Designed. To overcome this and attain the desired results, two options can be taken:
- Downgrade the user to Customer and then delete it.
- In your Admin Area, find the user you want to delete (search it on the unified search bar or find it in the Agent Directory)
- On the right sidebar, click on "Role" and change it from "Agent" to "Customer"
- Click on "Update Properties" to save the change.
- Drop down the user menu and click on "Delete User".
- Disabling the User
- Deleting the user will also delete all linked conversations, notes, and activities. If you want to keep them but still let the user out of your admin area and are unable to log in, you can opt to disable the user.