Some views (e.g., My active conversations, Recently updated conversations in my teams, etc.) may suddenly go missing or when you try to click on a view, the error "Sorry, you don't have access to perform this action. Please ask for permission from an admin." may appear, if the access to view was restricted.
Views can be used to display any subset of conversations that meet the chosen criteria. This means that admins can create a view to display specific conversations, such as conversations only assigned to you or a particular team.
If an administrator with the Manage views permissions restricts the visibility or sharing of a view to either 'Just myself' or 'Specific teams', it will prevent everyone from accessing that view except users that belong to the team to whom the view is being shared. As a result, you will not be able to see the view at all or you may receive the following error message when attempting to access the view:
Sorry, you don't have access to perform this action. Please ask for permissions from an admin.
To fix the issue described above, the sharing permissions of the view needs to be modified by an admin to allow access to it. It's worth noting though that if someone sets the view to 'Just myself', no one can ever see that view from the admin panel nor it can be seen by anyone in the agent area except the person who had it set to 'Just myself'. Hence, only the user account responsible for changing the view sharing permission can see and modify it.
- To change view sharing permissions in Kayako, you will need an administrator account with the 'Manage views' permission.
To modify the sharing permissions of an existing view:
Sign in to your Kayako and select Administration.
In the sidebar, click on Views under Conversations.
Here, you will see a list of all of the views that have been created. Click the view you wish to modify.
In the Sharing section, select the desired permission (e.g., Every agent to give access to all staff users). You may also make the view available to a specific team only by choosing the team from the drop-down menu.
Click the Save button to save the changes.
Note: After changing the permissions for a View, the affected user(s) will need to logoff and log back in to see the changes.
After making the changes, the view will either be restricted or allowed depending on the sharing permission you have set.
For example, if you set the view to Every agent, all staff users (agents and admins) will be able to see and access that view when they login to the agent area. The error "Sorry, you don't have access to perform this action. Please ask for permission from an admin." should no longer appear as well.